Yoko Ono, MEND PIECE, (1966/2021)

Artists' projectsYoko Ono, MEND PIECE, (1966/2021)

From May 19 to August 30, 2021

Locations : Paper Tube Studio (PTS)
Category : Artists' projects
Public : All ages

Mend carefully.
Think of mending the world
At the same time.

Shigeru Ban’s Paper Tube Studio (PTS), in which the Centre Pompidou-Metz was designed, imagined and created with Jean de Gastines, was installed on the roofs of the Centre Pompidou in Paris from 2004 to 2009. Since 2020, it has been permanently installed in the South Garden of the Centre Pompidou-Metz, and it is accessible to the public as a library, to give a new life to books, in collabora- tion with Metz’s Bibliothèques-Médiathèques.

Within the 2021 programming, it becomes once again a matrix and a place of creativity where artists are invited to imagine tomorrow’s world. A series of participatory workshops are offered, first with Yoko Ono, then with Sébastien Thiéry (PEROU), Marc Van Peteghem, Marc Ferrand, and then the PTS will be revisited by Shigeru Ban and Jean de Gastines.

Yoko Ono (b. 1933, Tokyo) lives and works in New York. Viewer participation and collaboration are central to the tenets of her artistic practice, which ex- plores performance, film, installation, music and poetic writing. Characterized by social activism and feminist engagement since the early 1960s, Yoko Ono’s oeuvre has influenced many artistic movements of the late 20th century, inclu- ding Fluxus, conceptual art, and video art.

Created in 1966, MEND PIECE is one of the artist’s first participatory works. The installation is composed by fragments of cups and saucers placed on a table. The public is invited to mend them using tape, string, glue or other mate- rials. Once repaired, the object can be placed on available shelves, thus leaving a tangible trace of the «healing» action, both material and spiritual.

The wooden tables and benches on which Yoko Ono’s work is installed, were created following the do-it yourself principles of the Italian architect Enzo Mari (1932-2020). His manifesto book Proposta per un’autoprogettazione (Proposal for self-design), published in 1974, presents free of charge detailed plans for the construction of furniture.

 

Acknowledgements : Céline Blaudez

Français

Yoko Ono, MEND PIECE, (1966/2021)

Projets d'artistesYoko Ono, MEND PIECE, (1966/2021)

Du 19 mai au 30 août 2021

Lieu(x) : Paper Tube Studio (PTS)
Catégorie : Projets d'artistes
Public : Tout âge

Réparez avec attention.
Imaginez réparer le monde
En même temps.

Le PTS (Paper Tube Studio) de Shigeru Ban, au sein duquel le Centre Pompidou-Metz a été dessiné, imaginé et créé avec Jean de Gastines, a été implanté pendant toute la gestation du musée sur les toits du Centre Pompidou à Paris, de 2004 à 2009. Depuis 2020, il est installé de façon définitive dans le Jardin Sud du Centre Pompidou-Metz et est habité par des livres. Provenant des Bibliothèques-Médiathèques de Metz, les ouvrages en libre consultation forment une constellation à travers laquelle le public est invité à naviguer.

À partir de 2021, le PTS devient à nouveau une matrice et un lieu de création. Pour une période de trois mois, des ateliers collaboratifs y sont proposés, d’abord avec Yoko Ono, ensuite avec Sébastien Thiéry (PEROU), Marc Van Peteghem, Marc Ferrand, puis il sera revisité par Shigeru Ban et Jean de Gastines.

Yoko Ono est née à Tokyo en 1933, elle vit et travaille à New York. La participation et la collaboration du public sont au cœur de sa pratique artistique, qui explore tour à tour la performance, le cinéma, l’installation, la musique et l’écriture poétique. Teinté d’activisme social et fortement féministe depuis le début des années 1960, l’art de Yoko Ono se nourrit et influence beaucoup de mouvements et tendances artistiques de la fin du 20e siècle, parmi lesquels Fluxus, l’art concep- tuel ou l’art vidéo.

MEND PIECE (Œuvre de réparation), créée en 1966, est l’une des premières œuvres participatives de l’artiste.
L’installation est composée de fragments de vaisselle, placés sur une table. Le public est invité à les réparer et à placer l’objet créé sur des étagères, pour laisser une trace tangible de l’acte de guérison, matérielle et spirituelle.

Les tables et les bancs en bois sur lesquels l’œuvre de Yoko Ono est présentée ont été créés en suivant les principes d’auto- production de l’architecte italien Enzo Mari (1932-2020). Son livre-manifeste Proposta per un’autoprogettazione (Proposition d’auto-conception), publié en 1974, présente des plans détaillés mis à disposition gratuitement pour réaliser du mobilier.

 

Remerciements : Céline Blaudez