Johan Creten - #CultureChezNous - Giorno 65

Centre pomidou Metz

On May 18, 2018 the artist Johan Creten installs a monumental and enigmatic fountain sculpture representing a bat in the city of Bolsward in the isolated region of Friesland, in the Netherlands. Later, he shows another version in Pilane in Sweden and in front of the Petit Palais in Paris.

Nowadays, this animal has become one of the symbols of the disaster that has spread across the planet, but they are mysterious and wonderful. Bats are animals that fascinate and intrigue; folk tales are filled of them. They are also very useful animals in our ecological system. The bat is not only a beautiful animal visually, but also very symbolically charged.

To the artist, it was most importantly one of the first times that he physically brought together in a sculpture his passion for literature and poetry by engraving in cast iron poems linked to the animal and human condition:
“On the premonitory bronze De Vleermuis are engraved several poems: one that I commissionned from Colin Lemoine “La Nuit Troglodytique” (The Troglodyte Night), another one named “Fear” by Earl Robert de Montesquiou and a poem by 92-year-old Dutch poetess Aggie van der Meer."

The sculpture requires physical interaction with the public. You have to touch it, pet it, explore it, climb it. Visitors can mount the sculpture and contemplate the world from a new angle. The more people touch and love the artwork, the more golden the patina will become and the more it will speak to the heart.

thumbnail

Français

Le Centre Pompidou-MetzLa programmation culturelle

Centre pomidou Metz

Le 18 Mai 2018 l’artiste Johan Creten installe une sculpture-fontaine monumentale et énigmatique représentant une chauve-souris dans la Ville de Bolsward dans la région isolée de la Frise, aux Pays-Bas. Plus tard, il montre une autre version à Pilane en Suède et devant le Petit Palais à Paris.

Aujourd'hui, cet animal est devenu l'un des symboles du désastre qui a envahi la planète, mais ce sont des animaux mystérieux et merveilleux. Ils fascinent et intriguent ; les contes populaires en sont pleins. Ce sont également des animaux très utiles dans notre système écologique. La chauve-souris est non seulement un animal visuellement magnifique, mais également hautement symbolique.

Pour l’artiste, c'était surtout une des première fois qu’il réunissait physiquement dans une sculpture sa passion pour la littérature et la poésie en inscrivant dans la fonte des poèmes lié à l'animal et à la condition humaine :
« Sur le bronze prémonitoire De Vleermuis sont inscrit plusieurs poèmes : un poème que j'ai commandé à Colin Lemoine La Nuit Troglodytique, un autre poème Peur par le Comte Robert de Montesquiou et un poème par la poétesse Hollandaise de 92 ans Aggie van der Meer."

La sculpture exige une interaction physique avec le public. Vous devez la toucher, la caresser, l'explorer, la gravir. Les visiteurs peuvent monter la sculpture et contempler le monde sous un nouvel angle. Plus les gens toucheront et aimeront le travail, plus la patine deviendra dorée et plus elle parlera au cœur.

thumbnail