Jean-Luc Vilmouth, Café Little Boy, 2002

ExhibitionsJean-Luc Vilmouth, Café Little Boy, 2002

From 16th of June to 7th of January 2019

Locations : Galerie 1
Category : Exhibitions
Discipline : Installation
Public : All ages
Author : Jean-Luc Vilmouth

After welcoming the reactions from: Sublime. Les tremblements du monde and Jardin infini. De Giverny à l’Amazonie, Jean-Luc Vilmouth’s oeuvre enters into resonance with the Japanese season exhibition which closes our creative trilogy: a journey in three acts into the depths of humanness. Here, we are on the threshold of what the artist defines as “experimental fringes, situations that allow emotions to flow, connecting us with our environment” which intensify and enhance our perception of reality.

Jean-Luc Vilmouth’s life work examines the various channels of communication mankind has established with its environment a permanent dialogue over time even if occasionally muted by momentary interruptions. His oeuvre “re-establishes our sense of belonging to the world”, according to Bruno Latour, and returns humans to their ecosystem however devastated and threatened it may be, as shown in his film Lunch Time and his environment Jungle Science.

As Paul Virilo writes in The Aesthetics of Disappearance, Jean-Luc Vilmouth’s own aesthetic investigations involve momentary “interruptions, disappearances, and effective reappearances of reality”; this is once again true for Café Little Boy, 2002, a place open to reflection, communication and exchanges. This fragile commemorative monument was given the code name of the atomic bomb dropped on the city of Hiroshima on 6th August 1945. As a finale to the Japanese Season, during which the exhibitions Japan-ness and Japanorama, dedicated to Japanese art and architecture, explore the metabolism of an archipelago forever subjected to destruction and creative reinvention, Café Little Boy is a green board on which are hung photographs found on the Fukuromachi school blackboard where survivors of the atomic explosion had written messages in the hopes of finding family members. In turn, it has become an invitation to contribute together to a commemorative work that establishes a conversation between the present and the ghosts of the past. “Space = emptiness + ma. Originally the word ma was used to indicate the space between things that exist side by side; now it signifies a gap, a crack separating things.”

With Café Little Boy, Jean-Luc Vilmouth weaves emotions and impressions, sets memories in motion. This collective poem seeps into the cracks of our identities, thus defining that space and rendering it significant.

Jean-Luc Vilmouth, Café Little Boy, 2002

ExpositionsJean-Luc Vilmouth, Café Little Boy, 2002

Du 16 Juin 2018 au 7 Janvier 2019

Lieu(x) : Galerie 1
Catégorie : Expositions
Discipline : Installation
Public : Tout âge
Auteur : Jean-Luc Vilmouth

Après avoir dialogué avec les expositions Sublime. Les tremblements du monde et Jardin infini. De Giverny à l’Amazonie, l’œuvre de Jean-Luc Vilmouth fait écho à la Saison japonaise, formant une libre trilogie, les trois actes d’un voyage nous conduisant au plus près de l’humain. Nous nous trouvons au seuil de ces « lisières d’expériences, de ces conditions de passages d’émotions et de façons d’être en contact avec l’environnement » que l’artiste, pour reprendre ses mots, crée comme une intensification et une augmentation de notre perception du réel.

L’ensemble de son oeuvre interroge les modalités de la coexistence de l’homme et de son environnement, en un dialogue permanent qui se maintient, bien qu’assourdi, lors de moments de profondes ruptures. L’œuvre de Jean-Luc Vilmouth « rematérialise notre appartenance au monde », tel que déclare Bruno Latour, replace l’homme dans son écosystème, même dévasté ou menacé comme l’ont rendu sensible son film Lunch Time et son environnement Jungle Science.

La recherche esthétique de Jean-Luc Vilmouth traversée par des moments de « suspension, disparition et réapparition effective du réel » selon les mots de Paul Virilo, dans L’esthétique de la disparition, est à nouveau manifeste dans Café Little Boy, 2002, espace ouvert à la réflexion, à la communication et à l’échange. Ce fragile monument de mémoire prend le nom de code désignant la bombe atomique larguée sur la ville d’Hiroshima le 6 aout 1945. Clôturant la Saison japonaise, dont les expositions Japan-ness et Japanorama, consacrées à l’architecture et l’art contemporain japonais, explorent le métabolisme de l’archipel traversé par le rythme perpétuel de destruction et de réinvention de la création, Café Little Boy se présente comme un tableau vert sur lequel sont accrochées des photographies du tableau noir de l’école Fukuromachi, où les survivants de l’explosion atomique venaient écrire des messages pour tenter de retrouver des membres de leur famille. Il devient à son tour une invitation à composer ensemble une oeuvre de mémoire, au sein de laquelle le présent dialogue avec les spectres du passé. « Espace = vide + ma. Le mot ma désignait à l’origine l’espace entre les choses qui existent les unes à côté des autres ; il en est venu à désigner uninterstice entre les choses, une fissure. »

Avec Café Little Boy, Jean-Luc Vilmouth tisse les émotions, les impressions, active une mémoire remise en mouvement. Cette poésie collective s’immisce dans les fissures invisibles de nos identités, vient qualifier ce vide et le rendre signifiant.