Indistinti confini – Noce, Giuseppe Penone

ExhibitionsIndistinti confini – Noce, Giuseppe Penone

From 21st February to 5th September 2020

Locations :
Category : Exhibitions
Public : All ages

All along the year 2020 several works by the artist Giuseppe Penone will travel over the territory of the Grand Est Region, establishing between Metz and Sarrebrück cross-border links dear to the Centre Pompidou-Metz ever since its collaboration with the Saarlandmuseum in 2016 on the occasion of the exhibition Entre deux Horizons.

Born in 1947, in Italy's Piedmont region, Giuseppe Penone has been exploring materials, forms and processes inspired by nature. As early as the end of the 1960's, the sculptor shared the reflections of artists principally active between Turin and Rome, united under the banner of Arte Povera by the art critic Germano Celant. All of them worked from raw materials, from pure energies, from everyday experiences or linguistic action. Faced with the collapse of the Italian economic miracle, as with the development of a consumer society and cultural industries, the "poor art" that they created, aspired towards radical austerity, to a reduction of means down to the essential, to a nomadism outside of institutions. An assumed simplicity, which prefigures current practices, eager to project sobriety.

The forest, the mountain, the river, the body are at the origin of Giuseppe Penone's work. His preferred gestures are simple: to kiss or take hold of a tree trunk in order to feel the slow process of concentric and upward growth; find the twigs burrowed in a manufactured wooden beam, by carving one by one the wood's growth rings... A living model of a perfect sculpture, the tree adapts to its environment in an exemplary fashion. The artist compares it to a skater and a tightrope walker, perfectly stable on unstable ground, defying gravity in order to catch the light. « Pump » and « lung », the tree is also a living organism which drains fluids and breathes the atmosphere.

From the Château de Versailles to the Inhotim Park in Brazil, the sculpted trees by Giuseppe Penone have adorned the most classical of gardens as well as the wildest of forests. Jointly invited by the Saarlandmuseum de Sarrebrück and the Centre Pompidou- Metz, the artist will intervene in the spring of 2020 in the public space of these two cities, in order to implant two twin sculptures: the bronze casts of trees, holding in their branches a river stone, of which the form is suggestive of a skull will signify the emergence of a thought. (Idee di Pietra, « Stone's ideas »). In Sarrebrück, the implanted tree, close to the Saarlandmuseum will be surrounded by Jaumont stones, recognisable by their typical golden hue from Metz. In Metz, the tree will be accompanied by pink sandstone from the Vosges, specific to the region of La Sarre. A geological dialogue will thus be established between the two cities.

Finally, to celebrate its 10 years, le Centre Pompidou-Metz is inviting Giuseppe Penone to take over its Forum for a protracted duration. The artist will implant in this freely accesible space, largely open to the exterior and remarkably high, an unprecedented installation: the bronze cast of a walnut tree of around 15 metres high and of which certain segments and ramifications will be in white marble. The branches of the tree and the splayed framework of the Centre Pompidou-Metz, designed by Shigeru Ban, will enter into resonance, sharing the similar structure of a meshed parasol. Plant growth, melting of an alloy and solidification of stone: the elements brought together in Indistinct confini – Noce (« Indistinct Frontiers - – Walnut ») form a hybrid wood both mineral and metallic, immaculate, and weathered the artist however sees in these different materials the continuum of a unique material, engaged at different moments with fluidity and dispersal.

 

Giuseppe Penone's interventions benefit from grants from Interreg V A- Grande Région : project "NOE-NOAH", and from the support of Constellations – City of Metz.
Logo Interreg

 

 

Founding sponsor:

Logo Wendel

Indistinti confini – Noce, Giuseppe Penone

ExpositionsIndistinti confini – Noce, Giuseppe Penone

Du 28 février au 2 novembre 2020

Lieu(x) :
Catégorie : Expositions
Public : Tout âge

Tout au long de l’année 2020, plusieurs oeuvres de l’artiste Giuseppe Penone essaimeront sur le territoire de la Grande Région, nouant entre Metz et Sarrebrück des liens transfrontaliers chers au Centre Pompidou-Metz depuis sa collaboration avec le Saarlandmuseum en 2016, à l’occasion de l’exposition Entre deux horizons.

Né en 1947 dans le Piémont italien, Giuseppe Penone explore des matières, des formes et des processus inspirés par la nature. Dès la fin des années 1960, le sculpteur partage les réflexions d’artistes principalement actifs entre Turin et Rome, et rassemblés sous la bannière de l’Arte Povera par le critique d’art Germano Celant. Tous travaillent à partir de matériaux bruts, d’énergies pures, d’expériences du quotidien ou d’actes de langage. Face à l’effondrement du miracle économique italien, comme à l’essor d’une société de consommation et d’industries culturelles, l’« art pauvre » qu’ils élaborent aspire à un dépouillement radical, à une réduction des moyens à l’essentiel, à un nomadisme hors des institutions. Une simplicité revendiquée, qui préfigure des pratiques actuelles, soucieuses de sobriété.

La forêt, la montagne, la rivière et le corps sont à l’origine de l’oeuvre de Giuseppe Penone. Ses gestes favoris sont élémentaires : embrasser ou empoigner un tronc d’arbre pour en éprouver le lent processus de croissance, concentrique et ascensionnel ; retrouver les branchages enfouis dans une poutre manufacturée, en creusant un à un les anneaux de croissance du bois… Modèle vivant d’une sculpture parfaite, l’arbre s’adapte à son milieu de manière exemplaire. L’artiste le compare à un patineur et un funambule, en équilibre sur des sols instables, déjouant la gravité pour capter la lumière. « Pompe » et « poumon », l’arbre est aussi un organisme vivant qui draine des fluides et respire l’atmosphère.

Du Château de Versailles au parc d’Inhotim au Brésil, les arbres sculptés par Giuseppe Penone ont investi les jardins les plus classiques comme les forêts les plus sauvages. Conjointement invité par le Saarlandmuseum de Sarrebrück et le Centre Pompidou-Metz, l’artiste interviendra au printemps 2020 dans l’espace public de ces deux villes, pour y implanter deux sculptures jumelles : les moulages en bronze d’arbres, supportant dans leurs branchages une pierre de rivière, dont la forme de crâne suggère l’émergence d’une pensée (Idee di Pietra, « Idées de pierres »). À Sarrebrück, l’arbre implanté à proximité du Saarlandmuseum sera environné de pierres de Jaumont, reconnaissables à leur teinte dorée typique de Metz. À Metz, l’arbre1 sera accompagné de grès rose des Vosges, propre à la région de la Sarre. Un dialogue géologique s’instaurera ainsi entre les deux villes.

Enfin, pour célébrer ses 10 ans, le Centre Pompidou-Metz invite Giuseppe Penone à investir son Forum pour une durée prolongée. L’artiste implantera dans cet espace en accès libre, largement ouvert sur l’extérieur et remarquablement haut, une installation inédite : le moulage en bronze d’un noyer haut d’une quinzaine de mètres, dont certains tronçons et ramifications seront de marbre blanc. La ramure de l’arbre et la charpente évasée du Centre Pompidou-Metz, dessinée par Shigeru Ban, entreront en résonnance, partageant une structure proche, en ombrelle maillée. Croissance du végétal, fusion de l’alliage et concrétion de la pierre : les éléments convoqués dans Indistinti confini – Noce (« Frontières indistinctes – Noyer ») forment un bois hybride tout à la fois minéral et métallique, immaculé et patiné. L’artiste voit pourtant dans ces différents matériaux le continuum d’une matière unique, prise à différents moments de fluidité et d’écoulement.

 

Les interventions de Giuseppe Penone bénéficient des subventions Interreg V A- Grande Région : projet "NOE-NOAH", et du soutien de Constellations – Ville de Metz. 1