Wish Tree

ExhibitionsWish Tree

From 5 February to 27 April 2015

Locations : Forum
Category : Exhibitions
Discipline : Installation
Public : All ages
Author : Yoko Ono

From February 2015, Yoko Ono’s Wish Trees will display their collective message of peace, hope and desire in the Forum of the Centre Pompidou-Metz.

Wish Tree is a poetic installation created by Yoko Ono and is the name for a series of works that she has produced since the 1990s, in which trees become components and props for her conceptual project. For Yoko Ono an artwork must create desire and arouse the spectator’s curiosity: “All my works are a form of wishing. Keep wishing while you participate”. She often talks about how, as a child in Japan, she wrote out wishes on small pieces of paper which she then tied around the branches of trees in temple courtyards. Yoko Ono thus encourages the public to become involved in the construction of the work, by sharing this desire to make wishes, by identifying desires and daring to write them down on small pieces of paper. Wish Tree is an invitation to meditate on the meaning of life and the importance of hope, desire and communication. Visitors are invited to leave a record with their words and impressions on small blank labels hung on the branches of the Wish Tree, and they become metaphorical actors in a collective dynamic movement.

The wishes collected in this way by Yoko Ono (of which there are now more than a million) are then kept at the site of IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, created by Yoko Ono in 2007 in memory of John Lennon, a beam of light and hope that illuminates the sky on the island of Viðey, near Reykjavik in Iceland.

Yoko Ono's commitment to peace has always been an element and theme throughout her work. Her early instruction works were about imagination and peaceful actions. In London 1966, at the DIAS (Destruction In Art Symposium) she performed Shadow Piece in a playground that had been bombed in WW II. She traced the shadows of participants, as reminders of the horrors of the Tokyo bombing that left only shadows of victims etched and burnt into the pavement. Acorn Event, 1968, was her first collaboration with John Lennon. She made an important statement for peace with her conceptual meeting of East and West. The event was part of the National Sculpture Exhibition in the gardens of Coventry Cathedral, England. Rejecting all notions of monumentality and spectacular, they created an embryonic sculpture by planting two acorns, one facing east and the other facing west, representing the union of East and West, their desire for peace between these two hemispheres and the need for ecological awareness.

After their marriage in 1969, Yoko Ono and John Lennon decided to turn their honeymoon into a public event dedicated to peace, called Bed-In, which took place at the height of the Vietnam War and resonated with the pacifist song named Give Peace A Chance. In the pacifist tradition of Martin Luther King and Gandhi, Yoko Ono’s work highlights the conceptual dimension of this performance, questioning the notions of identity and intimacy, space and time. On 15 December 1969, they launched an international publicity campaign for the promotion of peace in twelve cities around the world, with the message: “WAR IS OVER - if you want it - Happy Christmas from John and Yoko”, followed on 1 April 1973 by the invention of NUTOPIA, a nation living by the principles declared in the song “Imagine”, “a conceptual country with no land, no boundaries, no passports, only people. A country that belongs to all the world”.

Yoko Ono was born in 1933 in Tokyo. She is an artist and musician who has pushed the boundaries of poetic, conceptual and political expression. Her interest in art and music began at an early age. Her family emigrated to New York in 1952 where she studied poetry, music and composition at Sarah Lawrence College. She met Edgar Varèse, Morton Feldman and John Cage in the late 1950s and became part of the avant-garde music scene, along with her first husband, Toshi Ichiyanagi, a young Japanese composer. She was an active participant in the Fluxus movement, created in 1961 at the initiative of George Maciunas, which brought together a fluctuating and eclectic community of artists living in the USA, Germany and Japan.

Her work is celebrated in museums and galleries throughout the world and, in particular, by the retrospective of her work entitled Yes Yoko Ono held in Japan and North America in 2000. In 2009 she received the Lifetime Achievement Golden Lion at Venice Biennale. In May 2015, the Museum of Modern Art dedicates to her a major monography.

With the support of the city of Metz.

Français

Wish Tree

ExpositionsWish Tree

Du 5 février au 27 avril 2015

Lieu(x) : Forum
Catégorie : Expositions
Discipline : Installation
Public : Tout âge
Auteur : Yoko Ono

Les Wish Trees de Yoko Ono portent leur message collectif de paix, de désir et d’espoir dans le Forum du Centre Pompidou-Metz.

Installation poétique de Yoko Ono, Wish Tree est le titre d’une série d’œuvres créées par Yoko Ono à partir des années 1990, utilisant des arbres comme éléments et piliers de son projet conceptuel. L’œuvre d’art pour Yoko Ono doit créer du désir et susciter l’investissement du spectateur : « Toutes mes œuvres sont une forme de souhait. Continuer de souhaiter tout en participant. » Elle raconte souvent comment, lorsqu’elle était enfant au Japon, elle écrivait ses souhaits sur des petits bouts de papier qu’elle accrochait ensuite aux branches des arbres dans la cour des temples. Yoko Ono invite ainsi le public à prendre part à l’édification de l’œuvre, en émettant un souhait et en voulant faire ce voeu, en identifiant nos désirs et en osant les écrire sur de petits morceaux de papier. Wish Tree est une invitation à méditer sur le sens de la vie et l’importance de l’espoir, du désir, de l’échange. Conviés à laisser une trace, des mots, leurs empreintes sur les petites étiquettes vierges qui seront accrochées aux arbres du Wish Tree, les visiteurs deviennent de façon plus métaphoriques les acteurs d’un élan collectif.

Les souhaits ainsi collectés par Yoko Ono – dont le nombre s’élève aujourd’hui à plus d’un million ! – sont ensuite conservés sur le site de l’Imagine Peace Tower, créée par Yoko Ono en 2007 en mémoire de John Lennon, faisceau de lumière et d’espoir illuminant le ciel sur l’île de Viðey, à Reykjavík, en Islande.

L’engagement de Yoko Ono pour la paix a toujours constitué un élément fondateur de son oeuvre. Ses tout premiers travaux portaient sur les thèmes de l’imagination et des actions pour la paix. À Londres en 1966, au festival DIAS (« Destruction In Art Symposium »), elle se livre à la performance Shadow Piece, dans une cour bombardée durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Elle y trace les ombres des participants, en mémoire des horreurs du bombardement de Tokyo, qui a tout juste laissé les ombres des victimes gravées dans le bitume. Acorn Event, 1968, est le fruit de sa première collaboration avec John Lennon. Elle signe ainsi un véritable manifeste pour la paix à travers la rencontre entre le Levant et le Couchant. L’événement faisait partie de la « National Sculpture Exhibition », qui se tenait dans les jardins de la cathédrale de Coventry. Renonçant à toute idée de monumentalité et de spectaculaire, Yoko Ono et John Lennon créent une sculpture en gestation, en plantant deux glands de chêne, l’un orienté vers l’est, l’autre vers l’ouest, l’union de l’Orient et de l’Occident, leur désir de paix entre les deux hémisphères et la nécessité d’une prise de conscience écologique.

Après leur mariage en 1969, Yoko Ono et John Lennon décident de faire de leur lune de miel un événement public consacré à la paix, le Bed-In, en pleine guerre du Viêtnam, faisant résonner l’hymne pacifiste Give Peace A Chance. Tout en s’inscrivant dans la tradition de la résistance passive d’un Martin Luther King ou d’un Gandhi, Yoko Ono y met en avant toute la dimension conceptuelle de cette performance questionnant les notions d’identité et d’intimité, d’espace et de temps. Le 15 décembre 1969, ils lancent une campagne publicitaire internationale en faveur de la paix dans douze villes du monde « LA GUERRE EST FINIE. Si vous le voulez. Joyeux Noël de la part de John et Yoko. », suivie par l’invention d’une nation vivant selon les modèles établis par la chanson « Imagine », le 1er avril 1973, NUTOPIA, « un pays conceptuel n’ayant ni territoire, ni frontières ni passeports, seulement un peuple. Un pays qui appartient à tout le monde ».

Artiste et musicienne ayant ouvert de nouvelles possibilités d’expression poétique, conceptuelle et politique, Yoko Ono est née en 1933 dans une famille aisée de Tokyo. Elle s’intéresse à l’art et à la musique dès son plus jeune âge. À New York, où la famille émigre en 1952, elle étudie au Sarah Lawrence College la poésie, la musique et la composition. Elle rencontre Edgar Varèse, Morton Feldman et John Cage dès la fin des années 1950 et pénètre le monde de l’avant-garde musicale avec son premier mari, Toshi Ichiyanagi, un jeune compositeur japonais. Elle participe activement au mouvement Fluxus, créé en 1961 à l’initiative de George Maciunas, qui rassemble une communauté fluctuante et éclectique d’artistes vivant aux États-Unis, en Allemagne ou au Japon.

Son œuvre est célébrée dans les musées du monde entier, notamment lors de sa rétrospective Yes Yoko Ono au Japon et en Amérique du Nord en 2000. Elle est récompensée en 2009 par le Lyon d’Or de la Biennale de Venise. En mai 2015, le Museum of Modern Art de New York lui consacre une importante monographie.

Avec le soutien de la Ville de Metz.